First Baptist Deacons

Deacon Nominations


The Deacon Nomination Team invites all church members to nominate individuals who are eligible for service as deacons in 2017 for a 3-year term, beginning January 2017. The deadline for nominations is Sunday, October 23.

Please recommend those who are already ordained but not serving with the current board and those you wish considered for ordination as a new deacon.Use the profile below as a guide to identify members of our church whom you feel should be nominated. You do not need to ask them about their availability to serve. Please click the large green button above or nominate your choices here.

The Team will use the information for each nominee and guidance from the Holy Spirit to follow up with nominees and make a final recommendation to the church. Team members: Jeanne Hechler, chair; Charlie Ball, Sandra Bollinger, Donna Earley, Martin Law, Cynthia Maslyk and Jim Markham.

Deacon Profile

  • Biblical Qualifications:
    • Acts 2:18 Spiritual influence
    • Acts 6:1-3 Full of faith and Holy Spirit
    • 1 Timothy 3:8-13 Full of wisdom
    • Romans 16:1 Honest and good report
  • Service: Shows commitment to others through service
  • Stewardship: Demonstrates faithfulness in giving and believes in the power of tithing
  • Fellowship: Enters into full fellowship through regular attendance and participation at First Baptist.
  • Membership: Five consecutive years.
  • Exclusions from nomination:
    • Ordained Ministers
    • Member of FBC staff and his or her spouse
    • Spouse of a deacon currently serving on the Deacon Board whose term continues next year
    • Deacon whose rotation off the Board has been less than one year

How Deacons Serve

Each Sunday, thirty-eight deacons are required to serve the congregation when receiving the offering and forty-two deacons are required to serve when communion is observed. Deacons serve the communion elements to the congregation in the same manner as the offering. At the special services, such as Maundy Thursday, Christmas Eve, and New Year’s Eve, and at other times when requested to do so, deacons are asked to volunteer to serve the offering plates and the communion elements.

Regular Deacon meetings will be held the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in Flamming (Dining) Hall unless otherwise noted. Changes will be announced in advance. Generally there will be no meetings in July or August unless necessary.

Please see the Deacon Manual for qualifications of Deacons and requirements of service.

Active Deacon Board for 2016

Life, Lifetime Emeritus & Emeritus Deacons (12)

  • Mrs. George E. (Betty) Allen, LED
  • Anne Carnefix, LED
  • B. Roland Evans, ED
  • John D. Farmer, ED
  • Otto F. (Buddy) Hamilton, Jr., LD
  • Richmond H. (Dickie) Hamilton, LED
  • Meredith A. House, LED
  • William B. Johnston, LED
  • W. Broaddus Massey, Jr., LED
  • Robert W. Vance, LED

Serving through 2016 (26)

  • Kevin Beale
  • Beverley Beer
  • Joyce Clemmons
  • Inez Cocke
  • Heath Coryell
  • Karen Daughtrey
  • Charlie Dixon
  • Roland Evans
  • John Farmer
  • Susan Grant
  • Jeannie Hechler
  • Bill Hundley
  • Carrie Larson
  • Kaky Minter
  • John Moreau
  • Ann Phaup
  • Vicki Pope
  • Rob Reinstein
  • Karen Riggs
  • Kathy Rock
  • Dwight Ross
  • Julia Scott
  • Liz Southworth
  • Ken Storey
  • Charles Tilly
  • Joy Townsend

Serving through 2017 (25)

  • Sue Atkins
  • Rob Blackmore
  • Valerie Breeden
  • Allen Brown
  • Lisa Byerly
  • Keith Carroll
  • Virginia Darnell
  • Clyde Davis
  • Chip Delano
  • Brad Earley
  • Raylene Harton
  • Carl Johnson
  • Anne Keo
  • Michael Lacy
  • Martin Law
  • Bruce Leary
  • Gail Markham
  • David Maynard
  • Connie
  • Courtney Moses
  • Jim Norvelle
  • Gerry Ozmore
  • Trip Phaup
  • Clint Smith
  • Eddie Stratton

Serving through 2018 (26)

  • Martha Barnhill
  • Susan Beach
  • Andy Beale
  • Katherine
  • Debbie Boykin
  • Dot Canipe
  • Nancy Chewning
  • Martha Cloe
  • David Culotta
  • Carl Evans
  • David Hobson
  • Jim Kulp
  • Kim McIntosh
  • Bill Mayes
  • Ed Parkinson
  • Jane Pearson
  • Carolyn Powers
  • Todd Ritter
  • Mark Roane
  • Virginia “Ginny”
  • Jerry Spivey
  • Lee
  • Philip “PJ”
  • Barbara Watson
  • Beverly Wells
  • Larry West

Deacon Fellowship
(all ordained deacons including those not on the active Board)